Million Dollar Cookies Recipe

Simple, sweet and never disappoints. Freedom to get creative. Worth a million dollars.

 

Million Dollar Cookies 

1 c. Shortening

1/2 c. Brown Sugar

1/2 c. Sugar

1 tsp. Vanilla

1/2 tsp. Coconut Flavor (optional)

1 Egg

2 c. Flour

1/2 tsp. Baking Soda

1/2 tsp. Salt

1/2 c. Chopped Nuts (optional)

___________________________________________________________________________________________

1. Cream shortening and sugars together.

2

2. Add vanilla and eggs to mixture (add coconut flavor now if desired). Mix well.

3

3.  Sift dry ingredients together

4

4. Add to the creamed mixture.

5

5. Stir in nuts (I took some creative freedom and added fresh chopped coconut).

6

6. Chill dough for an hour in fridge.

7. Form into balls and roll in sugar.

17 10

8. Place on greased cookie sheet and press flat with the bottom of a glass dipped in sugar. (I find it easiest to rub a little shortening on the bottom of the glass before dipping it in the sugar.)

11 12

9. Bake 10 minutes at 350 F.

Enjoy!

13

Two batches out of the oven! One more to go!

___________________________________________________________________________________________

This recipe was passed down to me from my mother, who got it from her mother (Granny Grunt). It’s been a family favorite for a long time.

If you haven’t realized by now, I LOVE coconut. So I added a little coconut flavoring and substituted fresh chopped coconut for nuts. If you want a more original taste, leave out the coconut flavor and use chopped pecans or your favorite nut. Again, recipes are guidelines, not codes. Make it how you like it!

The spoon shown in the pictures was passed down to me from my father’s mother. I refer to her in other posts as the woman, with the patience of a saint, who taught me how to cook. I use her spoon set for almost everything I mix up. The awesome measuring cups came from my cousin’s local boutique. Love them? Check out her store here: Farm Girl. 

1

If you try this recipe out and want to share your experience, drop a comment below. I’d love to hear about any substitutions you made to make this recipe yours!

 

Leave a Reply

